

**News Release** 

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Josh Schultz, PR/Marketing Chair (612) 991-1320 jschultz@eaganfoundation.org

Michael Proebstle, Board and Scholarship Chair (651) 683-0000 mproebstle@eaganfoundation.org

## Eagan Foundation awards \$100,000 in scholarships to local students

(Eagan, MN, 5/22/13) – The Eagan Foundation has honored 118 graduating high school students from Eagan with \$100,000 in scholarships – the largest annual number and amount awarded in the 23-year history of the Foundation. This year's awards also represent a milestone for the Eagan Foundation – it is the first year over 100 scholarships have been awarded, thanks to the generous support of new donors and the continued dedication of longtime donors who have increased their contribution. Scholarships are funded by many local businesses, school organizations, family foundations, and nonprofits. The scholarship winners were honored at a breakfast presentation on May 21 at Eagan High School.

Senior-year students attending Eagan High School or residing in Eagan were eligible for the scholarships administered through the Eagan Foundation's 2013 Scholarship Program. 25 new scholarships were added for a total of \$25,900 more than last year's offerings. To be eligible, senior students had to first meet two main criteria: 1) live within the City of Eagan or attend Eagan High School, and 2) plan on furthering their education at a technical school, college, or university. Scholarships were then awarded based on a variety of donor-specified criteria such as academic achievement, student financial need, or career interest.

"I congratulate all of the scholarship recipients who have worked hard and have earned the recognition of the Eagan community," said Michael Proebstle, board and scholarship chair of the Eagan Foundation. "It is an honor to be able to award scholarships to such a distinguished group of individuals."

The Eagan Foundation will seek to sustain \$100,000 in awards annually, which would result in the Foundation surpassing \$1,000,000 awarded for the first time in the organization's history in 2014. "We have made great progress in our 'Climb to One Million' campaign," said Proebstle, "We are grateful for the Eagan community's ongoing support." After this year's successful scholarship program, the Foundation will have awarded nearly \$985,000 to Eagan students in its 22-year history.

## 2013 Eagan Foundation Scholarship recipients by school:

- Concordia Academy: Cory Kroonblawd
- Eagan High School: Nicholas Acton, Ashley Aldinger, Marie Altendahl, Danielle Anderson, Timothy Anderson, Nathan Blakely, Blair Blanchette, Brenna Bloome, Nathan Braun, Abigail Brinkmeier, Markel Byrd, Ryan Calton, Alex Chapdelaine, Daniel Chapdelaine, Benjamin Chipman, Phoebe Craig, Elizabeth Demyanov, Kelsey Doucette, Michael Dunlevy, Peter Economou, Christina Efteland, Reid Emmons, Evan Esslinger, Andrew Finnegan, Mathew Fischbach, Colin Fisher, Nicole Fowler, Elizabeth Frick, Lucas Gaedtke, Michelle Galarneau, Samuel Gaylord, Matthew Gleason, Molly Goin, Charles Goshey, Claire Gutknecht, Jacob Guzior, Daniel Hanson, Madison Haus, Sonja Hedblom, Alanna Hennen, Allison Howland, Mohamoud Ibrahim, Milosz Janczuk, Kyla Johnson, Nathanial Johnson, Connor Keech, Luke



Keller, Brian Koenig, Sarah Konold, Brianna Kozemzak, Justine Lange, Ryan Larson, Mikaela Lodahl, Zachary Lough, Cole Lunde, Emily Lynch, Paulina Marell, Nicholas Martin, Ryan Masso, Carly Mau, Kyle Mayne, Kaitlin McCoy, Bridget McGivern, Max Minsker, Luke Moe, Nicole Moran, Gabriel Murray, Thanh Thao Nguyen, Mikaela O'Keefe, Amanda Ostrem, Sanya Pasricha, Paige Patterson, John Paulson, Madison Peter, Abigail Peterson, Jenna Peterson, Kendra Plaschko, Ian Pugh, Abdul Qureshi, Mallory Raymond, Shane Ringkob, Jonathon Sabel, Anthony Sarne, Brandon Scheller, Alec Schmidt, Eric Schmitt, Eleanor Schriner, Mitchell Seidel, Vaibhav Sharma, Connor Simpson, John (Juan) Sjoberg, Alyssa Stoa, Katharine Torres-Busch, Emily Truszinski, Evan Tubbs, Marissa Vogt, Sylesh Volla, Hannah Vollmuth, Wyatt Wagner, Kelsey Walsh, Shelbie Werden, Cassandra Worner, Trevor Zarecki, Joseph Zuzek

- **Eastview High School:** Brooke Bertram, Sean Bradley, Kelly Bryant, Erica Floding, Jillian Jones, Shivaali Maddali, Anna Underhill
- School of Environmental Studies: Elizabeth DeRosier, Catherine Deysach, Heather Krech, Katherine Sullivan
- St. Thomas Academy: Jackson Tolke
- Trinity School at River Ridge: Richard Larkin-McLay

## 2013 Scholarship Donors:

Adam Bauman Foundation, Ahsim Ahmed Memorial, Anchor Bank Eagan, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Minnesota, Bremer Bank Eagan, Dakota Electric Association, Deerwood Elementary, DESK, Donald and Karen DeGenaro, EAA Eagan Wave Soccer - Angela Olson, Eagan Art Festival/ Terry B. Davis, Eagan Athletic Association, Eagan Beyond the Yellow Ribbon, Eagan Citizens' Crime Prevention Association, Eagan Foundation, Eagan High School Band Boosters, Eagan High School Boys Basketball, Eagan High School Boys Lacrosse, Eagan High School Boys Soccer Boosters, Eagan High School Bruce Nelson Strength Training, Eagan High School Faculty and Staff, Eagan High School Fastpitch Softball Boosters, Eagan High School Football Boosters, Eagan High School Girls Basketball Boosters, Eagan High School Track Boosters, Eagan Hockey Association, the Engel Family, Flint Hills Resources Discovery, Friends of the Farm, Friends of Wescott Library, Glacier Hills Elementary Site Council, Gopher Resource, LLC., Grass Education, Hagen Financial Network Linguistic, Kopp Family Foundation, Kristine Gillis Memorial, Laura Miller Memorial, Lions Club - Eagan, Matt Thuente Memorial, Minnwest Bank, North Star Youth, Northview PTO, Northwestern Mutual Financial Network, Paradigm Foundation/DH Gustafson Family Foundation, Patriots Endowment, Pinewood Community School, Power Systems Research, Punch Family Fund, Rotary Club of Eagan, State Farm Agents, Superior Auto Care, Suzanne Luse and Associates, and Xcel Energy.

Visit <u>www.eaganfoundation.org</u> for more information on the Eagan Foundation and the scholarship process.

## About the Eagan Foundation

The Eagan Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit community-building organization, whose vision is to make Eagan the best place to live, learn, work and play. Its mission is investing in Eagan's future by providing community connections, grants and scholarships. The Eagan Foundation was founded in 1990 and encourages, supports, and enhances ideas, funding, and collaborative action to meet community needs. To date, the Foundation has raised and reinvested over \$1,000,000 in the community through its scholarship, community initiatives, and community grants programs. For additional information or to learn how you can volunteer for the Eagan Foundation, visit www.eaganfoundation.org or email admin@eaganfoundation.org.